NEW WRITERS, WHEN WRITING YOUR NOVEL…DO YOU USE THE SAME WORD FOR EMOTIONS / EXPRESSIONS TOO MANY TIMES?

You’ve written your chapter or a large amount of your Novel, then having read through it. You see that you’ve used the same word too many times? Emotions/Expressions. I know  how frustrating that  can be.  On the first draft of my book,  I used the words ANGRY,FRIGHTENED , and PLEASED to name a few, too many times.  I had to change them, making sure the altered words were appropriate.

Now when I handwrite, I underline the word I want to check for similar actions, if typing I add an extra letter at the end of the word, so that it’s then highlighted.  I can check the word once I have completed my chapter. The underlines bring it  back to your attention. If it looks right just correct the spelling.

When reading through your manuscript, you can become word blind. Especially if you read it immediately after a writing session.  Leave that piece of writing  for a day or two then read it  through again with a fresh mind.

Use a Thesaurus for the words you wish to change. List them, tick them when used.

The word ANGRY, you can also use some of the following:- annoyed, heated, raging, furious, fuming, enraged, pushed to far, infuriated, livid, upset, mad.

FRIGHTENED :- afraid, alarmed, anxious, concerned, confused, distressed, fearful, mortified, puzzled, scared, shaken, terrified, uneasy, worried stiff.

PLEASED :- happy,satisfied, content, cheerful, delighted, hearty, at pease, cheerful, content, glad, thankful, satisfied, excited, overjoyed, elated, joyous, thrilled.

This is how I polish up my manuscripts.  I hope it is of help.

Happy writing,

AJ 🙂

4 Responses to “NEW WRITERS, WHEN WRITING YOUR NOVEL…DO YOU USE THE SAME WORD FOR EMOTIONS / EXPRESSIONS TOO MANY TIMES?”

  1. Kristina Galea Says:

    Thanks for posting. Very helpful

  2. Yeah – I use the find button for words to check on my use of them- sometimes I am in shock at what I find 🙂

Leave a Reply

